Woman Wins Nobel Prize in Physics for First Time Since 1963

(From Axios)

The 2018 Nobel Prize in Physics has been awarded to Arthur Ashkin, Gerard Mourou and Donna Strickland — the first female physics laureate since 1963 — for “groundbreaking inventions in the field of laser physics.”

Why it matters: “The inventions being honored this year have revolutionized laser physics,” writes the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences.

Click here for the article.